The Organization of the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center

Senior Leadership



Richard G. Pestell, MD, PhD
Director
215-503-5692
Richard.Pestell@KimmelCancerCenter.Org

Neal Flomenberg, MD
Deputy Director, Clinical Science
215-955-9642
Neal.Flomenberg@jefferson.edu

Karen E. Knudsen, PhD
Deputy Director, Basic Science
215-503-8574
karen.knudsen@kimmelcancercenter.org

Timothy Block, PhD
Co-Deputy Director, Basic Science
215-489-4949
timothy.block@drexelmed.edu

Massimo Cristofanilli, MD
Deputy Director, Translational Research
215-955-8874
Massimo.Cristofanilli@jefferson.edu

Matthew Carabasi, MD
Associate Director, Clinical Investigations
215-955-8963
matthew.carabasi@jefferson.edu

Richard L. Davidson, PhD
Associate Director, Shared Resources, & Executive Director
215-503-0408
richard.davidson@mail.jci.tju.edu

Leonard G. Gomella, MD
Associate Director, Clinical Affairs
215-955-1706
L_Gomella@mail.jci.tju.edu

Ronald Myers, PhD
Associate Director, Population Science
215-503-4085
Ron.Myers@jefferson.edu

Marja Nevalainen, MD, PhD
Associate Director, Education & Training
215-503-9250
Marja.Nevalainen@jefferson.edu

Ann Klassen, PhD
Co-Associate Director, Population Science
267-359-6011
ack57@drexel.edu

Edith Mitchell, M.D.
Associate Director, Diversity Affairs
215-955-8874
Edith.Mitchell@jefferson.edu

Takami Sato, MD, PhD
Associate Director, International Affairs
215-955-8874
T_Sato@mail.jci.tju.edu



The structure of the SKCC is shown in the Organizational Chart   PDF (printable).

The structure of the Thomas Jefferson University is shown in the TJU Organizational Chart.


Education & Training

Basic Science programs at the SKCC include:

  • Cancer Cell Biology & Signaling
  • Molecular Biology & Genetics
  • Biology of Prostate Cancer
  • Biology of Breast Cancer

Clinical Science programs at the SKCC include:

  • Radiation Research and Translational Biology
  • Gastrointestinal Cancer

Ph.D. programs at the SKCC include:

  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Genetics
  • Immunology & Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Molecular Pharmacology & Structural Biology

Shared Resources

The SKCC also offers its members access to many Shared Resources, including the following facilities: Bioimaging, Biostatistics, Cancer Genomics, Flow Cytometry, Proteomics, Transgenic/Knockout Mouse, and X-Ray Crystallography. A full list of the shared resources is provided under Research. Such shared resources greatly facilitate and enhance the effort of SKCC investigators in discovery.




NCI Designated Cancer Center

Maintained by the Informatics Shared Resources of the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson

Copyright © Thomas Jefferson University. All Rights Reserved.

The Thomas Jefferson University web site, its contents and programs, is provided for informational and educational purposes only and is not intended as medical advice nor is it intended to create any physician-patient relationship. Please remember that this information should not substitute for a visit or a consultation with a health care provider. The views or opinions expressed in the resources provided do not necessarily reflect those of Thomas Jefferson University, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, or the Jefferson Health System or staff.
Please read our Privacy Statement